Monday, May 28, 2012

Roi Et PAO Election

Winning candidate Mangkorn Yontrakul (above) received 188,629 votes while Rachanee Polsue and Tinkorn Jurimas garnered 169,053 and 156,215 votes, respectively. 

Mongkorn was the incumbent PAO President for Roi Et. He is the brother of Surajit Yontrakul, a Puea Thai MP from Maha Sarakham province. He received support from red shirt leader (and recently disqualified PT MP) Jatuporn Promphan; Prapai Huadsri, leader of the Roi Et red shirtsand Nisit Sintuprai, a UDD school rector. 

Rachanee is the wife of Ekapab Polsue, a former Thai Rak Thai MP, and one of the banned 111 TRT politicians (ban expires end of May 2012). She ran as a Puea Pandin candidate in a 2009 House by-election and defeated Puea Thai candidate Nirand Namuangrak. In the July 2011 general election, Ratchanee ran as a candidate for Chart Pattana Puea Pandin, finishing second behind Puea Thai in Constituency 3. 

Tinkorn Jurimas is the older brother of Anurak Jurimas. Anurak received a five year political ban for his membership in Chart Thai party in 2008. He is a former Social Development and Human Security Minister and Culture Minister.

Mongkorn, Rachanee and Tinkorn all used the Puea Thai logo on their campaign banners (see video here) and are listed here as PT candidates.

Other Candidates: Pitak Tinrot (2011 election finished last in Constituency 6 under the Power Athlete Party), Sapthra Anyaphot, Subphong Phanomket (ran as a Democrat candidate in the 2011 election, finishing third in Constituency 8).

Take Away: In a fairly close race, the incumbent candidate Mongkorn - using the PT party label and receiving strong red shirt support - takes the seat. Puea Thai won all eight seats in the province in the 2011 general election. 



  1. There was one further candidate, Anurak Ariuea (อนุรักษ์ อารีเอื้อ) with the number 7, who received just 4087 votes, the 2nd last place.

  2. Thanks! That is correct. I have posted full results below. If you know anything about these other candidates, including Anurak, and want to share, feel free.

    จากการเลือกตั้ง นายก อบจ.ร้อยเอ็ด เมื่อวันอาทิตย์ที่ 27 พฤษภาคม 2555 ที่ผ่านมา หลังปิดหีบรับบัตรเลือกตั้ง และนับคะแนน ซึ่งมีผลคะแนนเรียงลำดับ ดังนี้
    ลำดับที่ 1 นายมังกร ยนต์ตระกูล ผู้สมัครหมายเลข 5 ได้คะแนน 190,993 คะแนน
    ลำดับที่ 2 นางรัชนี พลซื่อ ผู้สมัครหมายเลข 1 ได้คะแนน 170,440 คะแนน
    ลำดับที่ 3 นายทินกร จุรีมาศ ผู้สมัครหมายเลข 2 ได้คะแนน 154,316 คะแนน
    ลำดับที่ 4 นายสืบพงษ์ พนมเขต ผู้สมัครหมายเลข 6 ได้คะแนน 4,540 คะแนน
    ลำดับที่ 5 นายอนุรักษ์ อารีเอื้อ ผู้สมัครหมายเลข 7 ได้คะแนน 4,087 คะแนน
    ลำดับที่ 6 นายพิทักษ์ ทึนรส ผู้สมัครหมายเลข 3 ได้คะแนน 2,137 คะแนน
    ลำดับที่ 7 นางสาวสุภัทรา อัญญโพธิ์ ผู้สมัครหมายเลข4 ด้คะแนน 1,268 คะแนน
    ในการเลือกตั้งในครั้งนี้ มีผู้มีสิทธิเลือกตั้ง จำนวน 979,409 คน มีผู้มาใช้สิทธิ จำนวน 553,563 คน คิดเป็นร้อยละ 56.52 จำนวนบัตรเสีย 15,894 บัตร คิดเป็นร้อยละ 2.87 จำนวนบัตรไม่ประสงค์ลงคะแนน 9,887 บัตร คิดเป็นร้อยละ 1.79